The Top 50 People Most Mentioned on Twitter by Mid-Size Marketers [Study]

by Nick Cicero on Feb 08, 2014

Screen Shot 2014-02-08 at 8.45.27 AMOur connections and reputation online are amplified by those who engage with us and carry the words we share. On Twitter, that takes the form of a mention.

A mention can be a citation, the source of a quote or piece of content inspiring many. A mention can be a signal of dialogue or even debate.

No matter its intention, the mention is important to Twitter because it’s designed to connect people. Whether those connections are good or bad, being mentioned frequently is a sign that a person is an active part of creating industry discussion today. Those mentioned most are the people you’ll find at the center of conversations between leading digital marketers.

Leadtail and DNN Software surveyed 504 North American marketing professionals at companies with 50 – 5,000 employees and compiled a number of lists of the people, brands, and publishers they follow and retweet the most in this report. Below are their top 50 most mentioned people on Twitter by mid-size marketers.  While most are marketing executives, analysts, writers, strategists and CEO’s, there are a few wildcards like Jimmy Fallon and David Ortiz. Clearly many mid-sized marketers are Boston Red Sox fans.

Top 50 People Most Mentioned by Mid-Size Marketers

1. Gary Vaynerchuk @garyvee
2. Jay Baer @jaybaer
3. @MarketingProfs
4. Vala Afshar @ValaAfshar
5. Michael Brenner @BrennerMichael
6. Jack Dorsey @jack
7. Jeff Bullas @jeffbullas
8. Guy Kawasaki @GuyKawasaki
9. Joe Pulizzi @JoePulizzi
10. Ted Rubin @TedRubin
11. Jeremiah Owyang @jowyang
12. Mark W. Schaefer @markwschaefer
13. Kent Huffman @KentHuffman
14. Brian Solis @briansolis
15. Belle Beth Cooper @BelleBCooper
16. Augie Ray @augieray
17. Ian Gertler @IanGertler
18. Chris Brogan @chrisbrogan
19. Dave Kerpen @DaveKerpen
20. Margaret Molloy @MargaretMolloy
21. Michael Brito @Britopian
22. Brian [email protected]
23. R Ray Wang @rwang0
24. Brian Kardon @bkardon
25. Marissa Mayer @marissamayer
26. Marc Benioff @Benioff
27. Mitch Joel @mitchjoel
28. Cheryl K. [email protected]
29. Gini Dietrich @ginidietrich
30. Ann Handley @annhandley
31. Lee Odden @leeodden
32. Christopher S. Penn @cspenn
33. Jon Miller @jonmiller
34. DJ Waldow @djwaldow
35. Jimmy Fallon @jimmyfallon
36. Sheryl Sandberg @sherylsandberg
37. Unmarketing @unmarketing
38. Peter Shankman @petershankman
39. Bryan Kramer @bryankramer
40. David Armano @armano
41. Kerry Gorgone @KerryGorgone
42. Glen Gilmore @GlenGilmore
43. Jill Rowley @jill_rowley
44. Stan [email protected]
45. Scott Brinker @chiefmartec
46. Adam Singer @AdamSinger
47. David Ortiz @davidortiz
48. Dick Costello @dickc
49. Jeffrey Hayzlett @JeffreyHayzlett
50. Shel Israel @shelisrael

 *Based on unique # of mid-market marketers in the sample that mentioned the person. 

Post Author

Nick Cicero is the Editor at Social Fresh and a Digital Marketing Consultant. Formerly of Expion and Livefyre, Nick has experience building social campaigns for Sony PlayStation, Winn-Dixie, Eminem, Teen Vogue and more. He’s a fan of playing...

  • Milo Bozovich

    No Neil Patel? Hmmm…

  • Ari Herzog

    Many of these folks are also bloggers, podcasters, and/or publishers of other content beyond Twitter. I’d love to see the list if links in those mentions are removed. If nothing external is being shared, how does the list change?

  • Mark W. Schaefer

    The list you have here is a lot different than the one that was published in AdWeek. I was 34 on that list and a lot of the names were different

  • nickcicero

    Hi @businessesgrow:disqus , you’re definitely right. This list comes from that same report but looks at who people @-mention most, AdWeek published the most Retweeted. As I mention in the article above, there are a number of different lists inside their report including the brands and publishers mid-size marketers mention most. Have you had a chance to read through it all? Interesting how the names change when you move from retweets to mentions.

  • nickcicero

    That’s a good thought, I can contact the folks at Leadtail who gave us this report and see what they can do.

  • Erin Brooks

    Look on the bright side – now you can humblebrag you’re at #12.

  • Mary K.D. D’Rozario

    The difference in mentions and retweets is indeed interesting. I’ve set the lists up (from all the different ways they were diced in the report) on Twitter @marydrozario if anyone wants to subscribe and keep on eye on them. The lists aren’t that different, but looking at them next to each other on my Hootsuite dashboard they do have a different overall flavor.